Melrose Centennial

Essay and Poster Contests Winners for Centennial

... Prizes for posters and essays awarded at Sundae Gala

Barbara Musselman

On behalf of the Melrose Centennial Committee we would like to thank the students and families of Melrose for participating in our Victorian Family Sundae Social at Memorial Hall on March 7th.  Despite the inclement weather early in the day, over 700 people attended this event.

Elementary students entered over 550 posters in the "My Favorite Place in Melrose" contest and Middle School students entered over 150 essays describing "My Favorite Memory of Melrose". Mayor Patrick Guerriero presented all the top winners with saving bonds and Centennial T-shirts went to those receiving honorable mention.

Essay Contest Winners

Grade 6:

Winner - Kelly Murphy
Honorable Mention - Adam Dion
Honorable Mention - Saxton Sharad

Grade 7:

Winner - Elizabeth Doherty
Honorable Mention - Jonathan Mooney
Honorable Mention - Brian Schmitt

Grade 8:

Winner - Megan Driscoll
Honorable Mention - Baxter Charlton
Honorable Mention - Sophie Matsuda

There were two categories for the posters.

Category 1: Grades Kindergarden thru 2nd grade.

Winner - Jenny Samuelson
First Honorable Mention - Cameron Roberts
Second Honorable Mention - Lindsay Smith

Category 2: 3rd grade thru 5th grade.

Winner - Alison Fink
First Honorable Mention - Maura Karpenko
Second Honorable Mention - Charlie Graft

The winning posters and essays will be on display at the Melrose Public Library for the next two weeks.

We extend our appreciation to the poster judges Gayle Lerman, George and Joanna Palmer, who had the difficult task of choosing from so many great entries. Thanks also go to the "Silver Stringers" of the Melrose Mirror for judging the essays. The judges were a group of computer "on-line" journalists. They are Melrose senior citizens who, through a grant with MIT, now have the hardware, software. and know-how to compile articles for their on-line newspaper "The Melrose Mirror." They thoroughly enjoyed reading all the essays and found it very hard to narrow it down to three finalists in each grade. The chosen essays will be printed in the Melrose Free Press and in the Seniors' "Melrose Mirror" on March 12, 1999.  The address of the "Melrose Mirror" is:

Each 1st place winner will receive a $100 Savings Bond and Honorable Mentions will receive a $50 Savings Bond. Thanks to all who participated in the poster and essay contests.

Our thanks also to Melrose Arts & Crafts Society member Mildred Macdonald for the lovely Victorian cut-out characters that graced the stage and to all those who donated raffle items. The Sundae Social event was sponsored by the Melrose Dentists and we would like to express our gratitude for their support.

Every school, including St. Mary's, was represented with a table featuring a game or craft reflective of the Victorian era. The PTOs are to be congratulated on their creative efforts that entertained the children while educating them on century old activities. A string quartet made up of Melrose High School students, Willie Klemm, Emily Taffe, Chris Bachovchin and Kathleen Romano, played background music for the sundae eaters while numerous "guest" scoopers served up the Heavenly Licks delicacies. Our thanks to Rep. Mike Festa, all the city officials including Police Chief Rick Smith and Fire Chief Frank Zinck , aldermen, school committee members, principals, youth sports directors and dedicated volunteers who helped keep the hungry lines moving.

The pleasure and pride in living in Melrose was truly reflected in the community support and turnout at this event and we thank everyone involved.


Mary Beth McAteer-Margolis and sub-committee members of the Melrose Centennial Committee:
Mary Beth Calnan, Kathy Harlow, Barbara Musselman, Debbie Brennan, Donna Macdonald and PTO Chairs Suzanne Carr,  Adele Dantona, Pat DeYoung, Karen Kirwin, Marianne Long and Charlene Russell

March 12, 1999

You can search below for any word or words in all issues of the Melrose Mirror.
| Return to section | The Front Page | Write to us |

Write to us