Reviews ...

Books and Baking

... a sampler for the literary appetite!

by Debbi Collar

Book clubs are known for looking at classic literature of old and
submitting suggestions to group members of trying out new authors. Baking
isn't necessarily part of this combination. That was not so with a recent
"light" reading task recommended by a local book club. Books and baking
led me to the  discovery of Joanna Fluke. Her "cozy mysteries" givereaders
the opportunity to juggle their own literary appetite along with the
holiday season's baking frenzy. Tempting recipes are generously shared in
her books. Fluke also encourages her readers to try out her recipes.
Between some chapters, try out a recipe, then return to the next pages
with a treat. Some of Fluke's stories can also
be viewed on television-they are the "Hannah Swensen" mysteries.

The author of this series of books is also up to date on technology and
has her own website as well as audiotape versions of a few of her books
and some are included as eBooks.  

One of the first books I read was the Red Velvet Cupcake Murders.
In that particular book, I discovered the murderer before last Chapter.
However, other stories written by Joanna Fluke had me in the throes of
guessing games attempting to solve the "crime" that took place. Some books
I read, some I listened to as Fluke has also provided audiotape versions
of her work. I found listening to the stories just as enjoyable as turning
the printed pages.  

Fluke is a Minnesota born New Year's Day baby, who began her "career" at
the counter at the age of four assisting in the baking duties of her

Bakers and readers can get a taste of the literary style she pens in
between her creation of recipes for her readers to try out. Ingredients
are generously given out in the backs of the following books:

Publication Order of "Hannah Swensen"(Character in Fluke's) Books.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (2000)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Strawberry Shortcake Murder  (2001)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blueberry Muffin Murder    (2002)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lemon Meringue Murder    (2003)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fudge Cupcake Murder    (2004)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sugar Cookie Murder    (2004)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Peach Cobbler Murder    (2005)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cherry Cheesecake Murder (2006)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Key Lime Pie Murder    (2007)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Carrot Cake Murder    (2008)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cream Puff Murder    (2009)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plum Pudding Murder    (2009)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Apple Turnover Murder    (2010)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Devil's Food Cake Murder(2011)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cinnamon Roll Murder    (2012)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Red Velvet Cupcake Murder(2013)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blackberry Pie Murder    (2014)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Double Fudge Brownie Murder    (2015)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wedding Cake Murder    (2016)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Christmas Caramel Murder    (2016)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Publication Order of Standalone Novels
The Stepchild    (1980)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Other Child    (1983)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Winter Chill    (1984)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cold Judgment    (1985)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vengeance is Mine    (1986)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Video Kill    (1989)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Final Appeal    (1989)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead Giveaway    (1990)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fatal Identity    (1993)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deadly Memories    (1995)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Eyes    (1996)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wicked    (1996)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Match for Melissa    (1998)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Season for Samantha    (1999)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Husband for Holly    (1999)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Caitlyn's Cowboy    (1999)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Valentine for Vanessa    (2000)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cookies and Kisses    (2000)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Townhouse for Tessa    (2001)    Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books
Joanne Fluke's Lake Eden Cookbook    (2011)    Hardcover  Paperback  

Enjoy the New Year, a new book, and some new recipes.  
Don't forget to look for her work on TV as well as other "thriller" novels
her publisher recommends. Recipes not included in those books.

January  6, 2017

You can search below for any word or words in all issues of the Melrose Mirror.
| Return to section | The Front Page | Write to us |

Write to us